Daytona NASCAR: Ricky Stenhouse Jr wins wild race for Roush Fenway – NASCAR

Ricky Stenhouse Jr took his second NASCAR Cup race victory in a heavily disrupted event at Daytona.

This victory means that both of Stenhouse’s Cup victories have come in restrictor plate races, following the Roush Fenway Racing driver’s Talladega win in May.

There was a late sprint for the chequered flag following a red flag stoppage, then three overtime laps after a subsequent yellow.

In the overtime period Stenhouse took the lead from David Ragan, who sunk to sixth before the end.

Stewart-Haas Racing’s Clint Bowyer finished second while Richard Childress Racing driver Paul Menard came home third.

The race featured several crashes and many tyre failures throughout the field. There was a record 14 caution periods in addition to the red flag.

The stoppage came about due to a crash involving points leader Kyle Larson with seven scheduled laps remaining.

Larson had risen to challenge for victory in the late laps but crashed out after contact with Stenhouse; Larson’s Ganassi machine was briefly airborne and in total eight cars were involved.

Poleman and Daytona specialist Dale Earnhardt Jr, in possibly his last race at this track, had a frustrating night.

He lost two laps just after the start of stage two, when he nudged the wall and sustained right-hand side damage.

The Hendrick Motorsports driver later got back onto the lead laps thanks to yellows, but then was forced out when caught up in a multi-car accident triggered by Kevin Harvick spinning with a blown tyre.

Penske’s Brad Keselowski was also involved in the mess, and he later crashed out on his own after another tyre failure.

Harvick’s crash was the second pile-up of the race. A spin for Kyle Busch just before half distance, after his left rear tyre rubbed on the bodywork, resulted in a smash involving 11 cars.

Joey Logano, Martin Truex Jr and Austin Dillon were forced to retire while Busch and others sustained damage.

Logano therefore still awaits his first Cup win this season that would qualify him for the Chase, following his ‘encumbered win’ at Richmond.

Joe Gibbs Racing’s Matt Kenseth won stage two after a tight battle with team-mate Denny Hamlin.

Kenseth was in the fight for the win for much of the way, but was caught up in the late crash involving Larson.

Keselowski led much of the opening stage and took the stage one points, repelling a late attack from Earnhardt.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing Ford 3h17m12.s
2 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 0.213s
3 Paul Menard Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 0.269s
4 Michael McDowell Leavine Family Racing Chevrolet 0.379s
5 Ryan Newman Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 0.385s
6 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports Ford 0.466s
7 Brendan Gaughan Beard Motorsports Chevrolet 0.491s
8 A.J. Allmendinger JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 0.540s
9 Erik Jones Furniture Row Racing Toyota 0.562s
10 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 0.681s
11 Corey LaJoie BK Racing Toyota 0.735s
12 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 0.760s
13 Matt DiBenedetto Go FAS Racing Ford 0.963s
14 Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 1.013s
15 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports Ford 1.032s
16 Ty Dillon Germain Racing Chevrolet 1.084s
17 Daniel Suarez Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 1.180s
18 Kasey Kahne Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 1.193s
19 Landon Cassill Front Row Motorsports Ford 1.199s
20 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 7.439s
21 Elliott Sadler Tommy Baldwin Racing Chevrolet 21h42m48.s
22 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 1 Lap
23 Trevor Bayne Roush Fenway Racing Ford 3 Laps
24 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota Accident
25 Danica Patrick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford Accident
26 Ryan Blaney Wood Brothers Racing Ford Accident
27 Matt Kenseth Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota Accident
28 Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing Ford Accident
29 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Accident
30 Reed Sorenson Premium Motorsports Toyota 16 Laps
31 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford Accident
32 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet Accident
33 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford Accident
34 Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Racing Toyota Accident
35 Joey Logano Team Penske Ford Accident
36 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet Accident
37 Jeffrey Earnhardt Circle Sport / TMG Chevrolet Engine
38 D.J. Kennington Premium Motorsports Toyota Engine
39 Cole Whitt TriStar Motorsports Chevrolet Engine
40 Ryan Sieg BK Racing Toyota Engine


Pos Driver Points
1 Kyle Larson 667
2 Martin Truex Jr. 649
3 Kyle Busch 559
4 Kevin Harvick 557
5 Brad Keselowski 535
6 Chase Elliott 524
7 Jimmie Johnson 516
8 Jamie McMurray 504
9 Denny Hamlin 498
10 Clint Bowyer 469
11 Matt Kenseth 445
12 Joey Logano 442
13 Ryan Blaney 435
14 Kurt Busch 408
15 Ryan Newman 399
16 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 395
17 Erik Jones 386
18 Daniel Suarez 354
19 Trevor Bayne 351
20 Kasey Kahne 328
21 Austin Dillon 323
22 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 307
23 Ty Dillon 297
24 Paul Menard 293
25 Michael McDowell 261
26 Chris Buescher 250
27 A.J. Allmendinger 242
28 David Ragan 229
29 Danica Patrick 208
30 Aric Almirola 188
31 Matt DiBenedetto 184
32 Cole Whitt 184
33 Landon Cassill 178
34 Corey LaJoie 124
35 Gray Gaulding 82
36 Reed Sorenson 79
37 Jeffrey Earnhardt 66
38 Michael Waltrip 29
39 Derrike Cope 26
40 Billy Johnson 15
41 Boris Said 8
42 Alon Day 5
43 Kevin O’Connell 4
44 Cody Ware 4
45 Tommy Regan 3
46 D.J. Kennington 2
47 Brendan Gaughan 0
48 Darrell Wallace Jr. 0
49 Elliott Sadler 0
50 Ross Chastain 0
51 Joey Gase 0
52 Regan Smith 0
53 J.J. Yeley 0
54 Ryan Sieg 0
55 Timmy Hill 0
56 Carl Long 0
57 Josh Bilicki 0

Source link


Articles You May Like

Mercedes F1 driver Bottas tests WRC leading Toyota Yaris in Finland – WRC
Uralkali dispute over Force India F1 takeover set for late 2020 – F1
Wickens driving again is “best therapy” after IndyCar pace laps – IndyCar
Haas seeking a “solution” to stop Formula 1 drivers clashing – F1
Podcast: Could WRC points’ leader Tanak leave Toyota for 2020? – WRC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *