Gateway IndyCar: Newgarden wins after brush with Pagenaud – IndyCar

Josef Newgarden extended his IndyCar Series points lead with his fourth win of the season at returning venue Gateway after a wheel-banging pass on Penske team-mate Simon Pagenaud.

Starting second, Newgarden swept round the outside of fellow Penske man Will Power at Turn 1 but didn’t have the chance to extend his lead as Power hit the wall and brought out the caution.

Power lost the back of the car going through Turn 2 and was lucky not to be injured as Ed Carpenter also spun and went over Power’s Dallara-Chevrolet.

From the restart Newgarden held off the challenge of team-mates Helio Castroneves and Pagenaud until lap 103 of 248 when a slow pitstop allowed Castroneves to claim the lead.

Castroneves, who won Gateway’s last IndyCar race in 2003, opened up a four second gap but an an issue with his engine cutting out at the final stop allowed Pagenaud to take the lead with Newgarden coming through for second.

In the closing laps, Newgarden squeezed his way up the inside of Pagenaud on the run into Turn 1 to reclaim a lead he held onto until the chequered flag for his first oval win of 2017.

The Penske team-mates made contact as Newgarden came through, sending Pagenaud wide and allowing Ganassi’s Scott Dixon – who started the race seventh – into second.

Dixon was the lone Honda-powered entry in a top five otherwise dominated by Chevrolets.

Third went to Pagenaud, just ahead of Castroneves who had his hands full with a hard-charging Conor Daly – showing a great turn of speed in the AJ Foyt car.

Alexander Rossi was the strongest Andretti Autosport driver in sixth, with Charlie Kimball unable to move up from a seventh place he claimed on the final restart with 36 laps to go.

Behind James Hinchcliffe and Carlos Munoz, Sebastien Bourdais claimed 10th on his comeback race just three months after being injured in a massive Indianapolis 500 qualifying crash.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Laps Gap
1 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 248 2h13m22.0358s
2 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 248 0.6850s
3 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 248 0.9743s
4 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 248 1.5668s
5 Conor Daly AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 248 1.7446s
6 Alexander Rossi Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda 248 2.9101s
7 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 248 4.2365s
8 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 248 4.8498s
9 Carlos Munoz AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 248 7.8832s
10 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 248 8.1831s
11 Sebastian Saavedra Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 248 8.6604s
12 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 248 8.8457s
13 Ed Jones Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 248 12.3444s
14 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 248 19.8702s
15 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 205 Contact
16 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 168 Mechanical
17 Max Chilton Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 164 Contact
18 J.R. Hildebrand Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 100 Contact
19 Takuma Sato Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 6 Contact
20 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 5 Contact
21 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 5 Contact

Drivers’ standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Josef Newgarden 547
2 Scott Dixon 516
3 Helio Castroneves 505
4 Simon Pagenaud 504
5 Will Power 464
6 Graham Rahal 436
7 Alexander Rossi 422
8 Takuma Sato 410
9 Tony Kanaan 365
10 James Hinchcliffe 351
11 Ryan Hunter-Reay 337
12 Max Chilton 336
13 Marco Andretti 322
14 Ed Jones 315
15 J.R. Hildebrand 300
16 Carlos Munoz 278
17 Charlie Kimball 263
18 Conor Daly 245
19 Mikhail Aleshin 237
20 Ed Carpenter 169
21 Spencer Pigot 165
22 Sebastien Bourdais 157
23 Gabby Chaves 98
24 Juan Pablo Montoya 93
25 Esteban Gutierrez 91
26 Sebastian Saavedra 80
27 Oriol Servia 61
28 Fernando Alonso 47
29 Pippa Mann 32
30 Jay Howard 24
31 Zach Veach 23
32 Sage Karam 23
33 James Davison 21
34 Jack Harvey 17
35 Tristan Vautier 15
36 Buddy Lazier 14

Source link


Articles You May Like

Sage Karam and Conor Daly return to Carlin for IndyCar Iowa – IndyCar
Ricciardo Silverstone corner bump MotoGP worry known pre-F1 weekend – MotoGP
Penske’s Newgarden extends points’ lead with win in delayed Iowa race – IndyCar
Dixon’s arm repair an IndyCar “off-season project” – IndyCar
WEC driver Lopez withdraws from Spa 24 Hours GT drive with Audi – GT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *