Watkins Glen IndyCar: Scott Dixon tops third practice for Ganassi – IndyCar

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon set the fastest time in third practice for Sunday’s IndyCar race at Watkins Glen ahead of Alexander Rossi.

Ryan Hunter-Reay completed the top three, with Helio Castroneves in fourth.

Dixon, who also topped second practice on Friday, waited until late-on in the 45-minute session to show his true pace, as his best time of 1m22.644s came with just five minutes remaining.

Rossi’s fastest lap was just 0.022s slower than Dixon, with his Andretti Autosport team-mate Hunter-Reay a further 0.393s back.

Castroneves ended up as the fastest of the Chevrolet-powered runners, albeit over half a second behind Dixon’s best effort.

Sebastien Bourdais, who is returning to action at a road course race for the first time since his violent crash at the Indianapolis 500 in May, rounded out the top five despite spinning on his final lap.

Takuma Sato finished in sixth fastest, ahead of first practice pacesetter Graham Rahal.

Championship leader Josef Newgarden could only manage eighth fastest, as he had visible issues with understeer and traction over the course of the session.

Newgarden’s Penske team-mate Simon Pagenaud was eighth, and Charlie Kimball rounded out the top 10.

Several star drivers ended up well down the field – Tony Kanaan was 12th, while Will Power and James Hinchcliffe could only manage the 16th and 17th fastest times.

Pos Driver Team Gap Laps
1 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 1m22.6441s 13
2 Alexander Rossi Andretti Herta 0.0220s 18
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport 0.4156s 13
4 Helio Castroneves Team Penske 0.5879s 16
5 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing 0.5965s 14
6 Takuma Sato Andretti Autosport 0.6950s 15
7 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan 0.7158s 18
8 Josef Newgarden Team Penske 0.7485s 19
9 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske 0.8065s 16
10 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing 0.8159s 18
11 Conor Daly AJ Foyt Enterprises 1.0444s 19
12 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing 1.1270s 16
13 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport 1.1416s 18
14 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing 1.2204s 14
15 Carlos Munoz AJ Foyt Enterprises 1.3277s 15
16 Will Power Team Penske 1.3746s 15
17 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 1.5099s 16
18 Ed Jones Dale Coyne Racing 1.6871s 19
19 Jack Harvey Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 1.7077s 18
20 Max Chilton Chip Ganassi Racing 2.1308s 17
21 J.R. Hildebrand Ed Carpenter Racing 2.1689s 18

Source link


Articles You May Like

Horner: Red Bull’s Gasly like a “different driver” in F1 British GP – F1
Podcast: Could Bottas have beaten Hamilton in the British Grand Prix – F1
Mercedes F1 driver Bottas tests WRC leading Toyota Yaris in Finland – WRC
Podcast: Could WRC points’ leader Tanak leave Toyota for 2020? – WRC
Penske’s Newgarden extends points’ lead with win in delayed Iowa race – IndyCar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *